Helped Lead RB Derrick Henry to Heisman

TUSCALOOSA, Alabama – December 16, 2015 — In a surprise presentation on the University of Alabama campus, The Joe Moore Foundation for Teamwork announced today that the Alabama offensive line is the winner of the 2015 Joe Moore Award for the Most Outstanding Offensive Line Unit in College Football. 

As the first-ever recipient of college football’s biggest trophy, Alabama was selected as the winning Unit by a voting committee comprised solely of people who played or coached the offensive line position, including all of the current offensive line coaches at the Division I/FBS level as well as former players, coaches and colleagues of Coach Moore and select media. The Crimson Tide were selected over fellow finalists Arkansas, Iowa, Michigan State, Notre Dame and Stanford.

In winning the SEC championship and a berth in the College Football Playoffs, Alabama featured a power game that allowed them to finish fourth in the nation in time of possession. The physical play of their offensive line Unit led the way for the record-breaking season of RB Derrick Henry, who broke Hershel Walker’s SEC single-season rushing record on his way to winning several post-season awards, including the Heisman Trophy, the Maxwell Award and the Walter Camp Award as the nation’s top player, along with the Doak Walker Award as it’s top running back. 

The Alabama Offensive Line

Offensive Line Coach – Mario Cristobal
Head Coach – Nick Saban
Starting Line

LT Cam Robinson SO #74    
LG Ross Pierschbacher RS FR #71    
OC Ryan Kelly SR #70
RG Alphonse Taylor JR #50    
RT Dominick Jackson SR #76

“Many voters shared how impressed they were with the physicality and athleticism of the Crimson Tide’s unit, and they are a very worthy winner in what turned out to be an extremely close vote,” said Aaron Taylor, CBS Sports CFB Analyst and Chairman of the Joe Moore Award Voting Committee. “The film shows them exploding off of the ball, getting to the second level, and working to finish plays, which is the hallmark of outstanding offensive line play.“ 

In honor of the first-ever Joe Moore Award winner, the Joe Moore Foundation for Teamwork will be making a $15,000 donation on behalf of Alabama to the AthLife Foundation, whose mission is to ensure that in our nation’s most challenged communities, deserving student athletes can achieve academically and prepare to compete successfully in their future careers beyond sport.

“The mission of the Joe Moore Foundation is a perfect match for our cause and we look forward to a long partnership with them into the future,” said Jon Harris, President of the AthLife Foundation. “We congratulate Alabama on this award and recognize what made them so successful – hard work and teamwork. They will be an inspiration to all of the student athletes we support.”

The actual Joe Moore Award trophy, crafted by legendary sports sculptor Jerry McKenna, is the largest trophy in college football and weighs more than 350 pounds. Along with Alabama and the other Finalists, the trophy will be the subject of a CBS Sports Network special scheduled to air in early January.